The property dates back to 19th century Montréal. It was originally used by merchants for flour trading and dry goods. It was then used as wholesaler saddlery and shoe trade. Around the 1940s, the building was used as a warehouse for Potato Distributors Ltd. and then was transferred over to a furniture warehouse in the '60s. Thanks to an excellent view of the Old Port, it was transformed into a 45-room hotel in the '90s.
Prized dearly for its Second Empire Architecture. Although it was originally built as a private residence in 1869 by William Ritchie as a wedding gift, the hotel was vacant for several years after they decided to open in up for tenants. In 1897, it was used as a local church and a private school until 1906. It was again repurposed as a hotel but only until the Roaring Twenties did the hotel gain a steady influx of travellers. Due to the budding tourism in Annapolis Royal, the vintage architecture became popular and sought-after to travellers and history-lovers alike.