Former Castle Hotel"Hôtel de La Cité" was initially built in 1909 and it was extended in 1913 and 1927. In the 1920s, it became the stop-over when travelling between Nice and Biarritz or between Biarritz and Barcelone. The hotel was closed during the Second World War and reopened in 1945. During the 50s it was at the height of its glory but it started declining in the 60s, with the restaurant closing in 1969 and the hotel itself in 1987. Two years later, in 1989, it reopened under new ownership, but in 1997 "Hôtel de la Cité" changed hands once again. It was entirely renovated from 1998 to 2001 and the two existing hotels, the four-star Hôtel de la Cité and the three-star Hôtel Dame Carcas were merged into a single luxury hotel. In August 2011, the hotel was acquired by Christine Pujol, an owner of several charming hotels in Carcassonne, thereby opening a new chapter in the history of the hotel.