Named after John Palliser. The hotel was built within Edwardian-era architecture in mind and Renaissance-inspired interiors. Opened in 1914 and gained a Heraldic Badge granted by the Crown in 1993. Within its walls, prime ministers, royalties and celebrities lived to experience the Canadian rockies and the bright city of Calgary.
The hotel was named after the Duke and Duchess of York, later known as King George V and Queen Mary. Built around 1864, the hotel underwent many renovations over the course of a hundred years. In 1975, it was bought by the Wiens family who expanded the property. It was later included in the Vintage Hotel Properties in 1997.