The Barn B&B
12 Photos
The Barn B&B  
Farm Stay in Margam  
Available on:

Historic Accommodation

Its history is traced back to 1560's. A list of tenants prove that the barn existed since than.
Year built: 1300
What is the history of the property?
The B and B and Cottages were part of the historic Margam Abbey that was built in 1247, The farm was built around the same time but was modernised in 1880 and updated by us in 2009
What was the era and/or the architectural style in which the property was built?
The main features now showing are Victorian, but look hard and you can see past there facard
Is the property surrounded by other historic buildings?
Margam Abbey is 1 mile away and Kenfig Castle 1/2 a mile away still stands sticking out of the Sand Dunes.
Has restoration work taken place?
yes, but it still retains most of its Victorian features
Are there any elements of particular historical importance at the building?
the red stone in the building are thought to be ballast stones from the ships that sailed into Kenfig castle to collect wool from the Abbey for processing in Somerset
Are there any important guests or previous owners worth mentioning?
The Name Tyn y cellar is Welsh for the Cellerer who was no 2 in the Abbey next to the Abbot and was responsible for buying,selling ,hiring and firing for the abbey
Are there any significant events that took place at the property in the past?
In the early 1300 sand blew in from the coast and covered hundreds of acres of farm land and is still here till this day and now forms part of the Kenfig Nature reserve and SSI site.
Has the property received any certifications for its historical status?
Yes the whole farm is grade 2 listed, and has had a complete historical investigation.
Would you describe your property as (or has it ever been in the past) a:
Farmhouse
Show more
 
The Oval, Dunster
18 Photos
The Oval, Dunster  
Vacation Home in Dunster  
Available on:

Historic Accommodation

Year built: 1366
What is the history of the property?
The Oval is one of the earliest houses built in Dunster. The house was originally a hall house, one large room with a fire central to it. Everyone who lived in the house shared one or two rooms, including the animals if the weather was especially harsh.

The fireplace is likely to have been on the street side, rather than where it is now, like the orange and black ‘cobb’ cottage you see further down the street. At this time - around 1320-40s - the other houses in the street would have been The Stag pub (which also had a wooden screen until a hundred or so years ago) and Spears Cross, the B and B further up West Street going towards the castle. The rest of this part of West Street probably had temporary houses of wattle and daub filling in the gaps. Some of the other smaller cottages between here and Spears Cross would have been built after the Black Death of 1348.

The wood panelling in the hallway is extremely old – you can see marks throughout where the carpenters have worked it by hand. It’s likely the screen in the hallway was added around 1450 -1500 to enclose the hall house, giving a mezzanine level where the main bedroom is now. It is unusual for this to remain as they were mostly pulled down in the Victorian era as walls were added.

The cruck beams in the main bedroom are of historical importance for this area of West Somerset. They are made from one large piece of wood and, unusually, they retain their original wooden pegs and holes. The craftsmanship and size of the beams suggest the person who built The Oval would have been wealthy. The beams came from the local area and are of historical significance, hence the Grade II listing.
What was the era and/or the architectural style in which the property was built?
The basic structure of the house is cob, which is a wooden frame filled with rubble, stones and held together with lime plaster. This is the 1366 building - slap bang in the middle of the medieval period.

During the Tudor period, the wooden screen was added and probably the fireplace was moved to the wall (rather than the middle of the downstairs) and a staircase was added.

In 1810 there was a fire that devastated the cottage, and changes were made as a result.

In the Victorian era we think the twin bedroom was added. And at some point in the 1960 or 70s, an extension was added at the back to create a larger kitchen and the dining room.
Is the property surrounded by other historic buildings?
Dunster is the largest remaining intact medieval village in England. Almost all the properties on West Street, Church Street and the High Street are listed to protect their unique architecture. But there are also Georgian an Victorian buildings dotted around the main street and in the back streets too.
Has restoration work taken place?
The present owner has made very few changes, all in line with the permitted development based on the Grade II listing. She has added secondary double glazing and added a sun deck at the top of the garden on the hill.
Are there any elements of particular historical importance at the building?
The wooden screen in the main hallway, the cruck beam in the main bedroom, the wooden window and door frame to the utility room, the wooden door frames in the 'Snug' room and at the top of the stairs.
Has the property received any certifications for its historical status?
Grade II listed. Channel 4's Time Team has dendrodated the property to 1366. The photos are from that visit.

Historical England are in the process of the same dating.
Is there anything that you would like to highlight, add or clarify?
The ceilings in the lower half of the property are low as you would expect. It is a deceptively large house, and the historical features sit happily side by side with the modern day comforts.
Show more
 
The Black Boy Inn
113 Photos
The Black Boy Inn  
Hotel in Caernarfon  
Available on:

Historic Hotel

Year built: 1522
What is the history of the property?
THE BLACK BOY or BUOY Inn Caernarfon

The question that requires an answer to is when was the name Black Boy first

used?

Although records called The Ale House recognisances go as far back as

1764, only the names of the victuallers appeared with that of 'their guarantors

up to the years preceding 1820. It was only in that year that the names of their

licensed premises also appeared, and, in this case, we find that.

there were two adjacent taverns on this site. The Black Boy was No.7 in the

street and the four Shillings and Six Pence was No.9, a Mr. Thomas Parry

being the licensee of the former, and a Mr. Thomas Williams licensee of the

latter.

Going further back to the turn of the century we find on a map dated circa.

1800 that the official name of the street at that time was The Black Boy Street

and the same is true of a Census of 1794. The latter was not a proper Census.

as those which family historians are accustomed. It was more of a head count.

giving only the name of the head of the family and recording where

appropriate (and wife), then the number of children and of servants and finally

a total of the number of people in the house. We find that 48 people in all lived.

in Black Boy Street in 1794.

Further research in the Archives at Caernarfon showed that a dwelling house.

was sold by Mr. Thomas Wynne the squire of Glynllifon to a Mr Henry

Robyn’s in 1717 and on the deed, it states that the name of the street was

Street Y Black Boy.

Now if we could go back another 60 years, we would be in the middle of the

period of the Protectorate under Oliver Cromwell and this is where a well

known journalist and author, who died last year, Mr. Ivor Wynne Jones,

claimed to have seen documents that were found when the renovations which

included extension were made to this building some 50 years ago by the then

landlord Mr. Norman Underhill.

He maintained that it was here that the supporters of the monarchy met

regularly and drank a loyal toast "To the Black Boy". They were referring to

the heir to the throne who later became Charles II, but dare not mention his

name lest they were overheard by some of Cromwell's spies.

Black Boy was in fact a pet name given to the heir to the throne by his mother

Henrietta Maria, French by birth but with some Spanish blood in her veins.

When Charles was born he is said to have had a swarthy complexion and his

mother used to refer to him as "My Beautiful Black Boy! Now it is understood

That there are Black Boy's in other towns and that this explanation is regarded

as being the true version for the origin of the name.

It is not; therefore, absolutely certain when the name Black Boy was first used

in Caernarfon, but Ivor Wynne Jones' contribution to the debate cannot be

faulted.

The next question that needs to be addressed is how it was that the "Black

Boy Street" or "Street Y Black Boy" became to be called "Northgate Street" In

English and "Stryd Pedwar a Chwech" in Welsh.

To commence with, let us take the English name "Northgate Street", Along

the centuries since the completion of the town walls in 1290 it should be noted

that there was no such entrance in the town wall, and it was circa 1820's that

the opening was created at the bottom of the street to allow access to the

walled town. The entrance at the bottom of Church Street was the first to be.

created shortly after renovations were carried out to the 8t. Mary Church in

Church Street 1810 - 1814. This it is believed occurred c. 1817, and was

followed by the other two streets running parallel viz. Market Street and

Northgate Street. In 1610, John Spede's Map shows that Palace Street was

the official name of the street from Castle Ditch right down to where the town

wall was breached and from then on that entrance was called "North Gate".

Previously there existed only "The East Gate" 'Y Porth Mawr' and "The West

Gate" 'Porth yr Aur'.

The answer as to why the Welsh name "Stryd Pedwar a Chwech" was

adopted is quite apparent. As was first stated the present Black Boy is made

up of two taverns No.7 and No.9 in the street and in 1820 when the new

entrance became known as "Northgate" the name of the tavern at No.9 was

"The Four and Six Pence" which translates as "Pedwar a Chwech". Hence the

English version of the street name became "Northgate Street" and the Welsh

version after a tavern in the street "Stryd Pedwar a Chwech".
What was the era and/or the architectural style in which the property was built?
1509-1547) Henry VIII was born at Greenwich on 28 June 1491, the second son of Henry VII and Elizabeth of York. He became heir to the throne on the death of his elder brother, Prince Arthur, in 1502 and succeeded in 1509.
Is the property surrounded by other historic buildings?
The Royal Town of Caernarfon UNESCO World Heritage Site. The castle attracts tens of thousands of visitors each year. Within the building, there is plenty more than just the architecture to be interested in. ... Although the castle is arguably Caernarfon's biggest attractor of tourists, it is not the only thing in the town worth visiting.
Has restoration work taken place?
In the last few years, major changes have been undertaken.

But always in our mind to maintain the history.
Are there any elements of particular historical importance at the building?
Age of the Building and the History

Has the property received any certifications for its historical status?
Grade 2 Listed by CADW
Would you describe your property as (or has it ever been in the past) a:
Inn
Is there anything that you would like to highlight, add or clarify?
We are situated in an area with the living Welsh language used every day.
Show more
 
White House Farm
White House Farm  
Bed & Breakfast in Hindolveston  
Available on:

Historic Accommodation

Year built: 1500
What is the history of the property?
It was a yeomans house
What was the era and/or the architectural style in which the property was built?
Medieval
Is the property surrounded by other historic buildings?
There are some older houses
Has restoration work taken place?
Yes
Are there any important guests or previous owners worth mentioning?
No
Are there any significant events that took place at the property in the past?
No
Has the property received any certifications for its historical status?
Grade 2 listed
Show more
 
Swafield Hall
5 Photos
Swafield Hall  
Apartments in Swafield  
Available on:

Historic Accommodation

Year built: 1550
What is the history of the property?
Grade II listed 16th century Swafield Hall is mentioned in “The Buildings of England” by Nicolaus Pevsner and Bill Wilson.
What was the era and/or the architectural style in which the property was built?
The Hall has a brick and flint Tudor North facade and a lime washed Georgian South elevation. The historic interiors include the stunning 17 meters long vaulted Ground Floor Hallway, with marble flooring and Georgian yellow walls and the chandeliers on the 18th century main staircase.
Has restoration work taken place?
Extensive restoration was undertaken from 2015 to 2018
Are there any elements of particular historical importance at the building?
Local legend reports that Admiral Nelson stayed in Swafield Hall, and some believe that the house is inhabited by a friendly ghost.
Are there any important guests or previous owners worth mentioning?


Has the property received any certifications for its historical status?
The Hall is Grade II listed
Would you describe your property as (or has it ever been in the past) a:
Mansion
Show more
 
Trehellas Country House Hotel, Steak House & Grill
31 Photos
Trehellas Country House Hotel, Steak House & Grill  
Country House in Bodmin  
Available on:

Historic Accommodation

Year built: 1745
What is the history of the property?
Trehellas House has a long and interesting history, being at various times a farm house, a court house and the local village inn where many village functions were held.

When Maclean wrote his history of the parish of Egloshayle, Trehellas was know as the Washaway Inn where the monthly Petty sessions for the hundred of Trigg were still being held, The Long room of the inn was still used as a magistrates court into the 20th century dealing with minor offences such as drunkenness. The old joke was that those convicted or acquited consoled themselves or celebrated by popping downstairs for a drink.

In January 1760 a meeting of the justices and deputy Lieutenants was convened there. Frequent surveys for the sale of timber were also held at the inn. In the seventeen hundreds a venison club whose members comprised of the local gentry, dined at the inn several times a year. On the 9th November 1775 it seems that Sir William Molesworth of Pencarrow was set up as a candidate for membership and on December the 15th he was elected.

By the 1930s Trehellas was just a farmhouse, The farm being worked by the Lobb brothers, one of whom lived at Dunmere and did a milk round into Bodmin. He also ran a service taking batteries into Bodmin to be recharged, as at that time radios needed a wet cell that only held about 2 weeks charge.

At the end of WWII, a youth club with about 70 members was set up. The club met in the Long Room of Trehellas. The washaway families set up the very successful Washaway Concert parties which toured their shows around the local villages. Dances were held in the Long room. Sadly these activity's had to come to an end as the Lobb brothers felt that they disturbed the cows in the dairy below.

Trehellas was eventually sold to someone who wanted to turn it into a restaurant which was called Wash Away Your Troubles. After this it became the taste of Malaya, a restaurant specialising in Malayan food. Now it is the extremely popular and successful Trehellas House Hotel and restaurant owned and run by Alistair Hunter.

For The Best Deals

Cornish Breaks

AA 3 Star AA Rosette
What was the era and/or the architectural style in which the property was built?
Traditional Cornish stone
Is the property surrounded by other historic buildings?
Pencarrow House at the rear of the hotel
Has restoration work taken place?
no
Are there any elements of particular historical importance at the building?
The Court Room
Are there any important guests or previous owners worth mentioning?
Lots of important guests all the time, Dames to Lords to M.Ps
Has the property received any certifications for its historical status?
Grade 2 listed
Would you describe your property as (or has it ever been in the past) a:
Farmhouse
Show more
 
Garrison Of Inversnaid
Garrison Of Inversnaid  
Bed & Breakfast in Inversnaid  
Available on:

Historic Accommodation

Garrison Of Inversnaid is housed in a garrison that was built in 1718 by the Duke of Montrose. Surrounded by the stunning Scottish natural landscapes, the accommodation has been attentively renovated in order to become the charming Bed & Breakfast that it is today.
Year built: 1719
What is the history of the property?
Garrison for the British Army to suppress the Jacobite risings during the early 1700’s, namely Rob Roy MacGregor and company
What was the era and/or the architectural style in which the property was built?
Italian style box fort garrison (star shaped)
Is the property surrounded by other historic buildings?
Duke of Montrose memorial graveyard and soldiers that died during their posting at Inversnaid Garrison
Has restoration work taken place?
Only on the main house and one wall has been extended into a barn which is now guest accommodation
Are there any elements of particular historical importance at the building?
Existing walls and buildings
Are there any important guests or previous owners worth mentioning?
The land was originally owned by the MacGregor clan, it was then acquired by Duke of Montrose after Rob Roy MacGregor fell into debt and the Duke requested the military garrison to be built in the centre of the land to make a point to the MacGregor clan and Jacobite rising of 1715
Are there any significant events that took place at the property in the past?
During the time of the battle of Culloden in 1745 the jacobites burnt the garrison down and then it was re built to the same footprint instantly
Has the property received any certifications for its historical status?
It’s classified as a Scottish historical monument and is C listed
Show more
 
Castle House B and B
Castle House B and B  
Bed & Breakfast in Denbigh  
Available on:

Historic Accommodation

Year built: 1735
What is the history of the property?
Lloyd George used to stay here on his way to Cricceth when Thomas Gee ( Local printer who printed the first bible in the Welsh language)

We have the story of Emily Fazakerly who lived here in the C19 and Howells girl boarding school who purchased it and used Castle House as a girls boarding house.

We lived in the house for ten years as a family of 9 children, turning into a BnB when the majority of the children flew the nest.
What was the era and/or the architectural style in which the property was built?
Georgian building with significant Victorian embellishments.

Incredible coving!
Is the property surrounded by other historic buildings?
We also own the Town Walls 1250 and in our garden is Leicester’s Church built by Robert Dudley, lover of Queen Elizabeth II built as the first reformation building, a cathedral for N. Wales.

Being called Castle House, it is no surprise we are next door to Denbigh Castle!
Has restoration work taken place?
Insides are up to modern 5* Gold specification.
Are there any elements of particular historical importance at the building?
Cornice work, embellished ceilings, arches.
Are there any important guests or previous owners worth mentioning?
Thomas Gee ( Printer)

DS Davies ( MP)

Howell’s School

Has the property received any certifications for its historical status?
Grade 2 listed
Would you describe your property as (or has it ever been in the past) a:
Mansion
Is there anything that you would like to highlight, add or clarify?
Denbigh is one of the walled towns of N Wales

We own a significant portion of the walls.
Show more
 
Stableyard
8 Photos
Stableyard  
Accommodation in Wrexham  
Available on:

Historic Accommodation

Year built: 1630
What is the history of the property?
From a traditional longhouse 400 years ago to 3 self-catering cottages today, this historic property has been a coaching inn, a pub, a hotel, an antique shop, even a butchers 150 years ago!
What was the era and/or the architectural style in which the property was built?
17th century
Is the property surrounded by other historic buildings?
Situated in the historic village of Bangor-on-Dee with its 'black-and-white' buildings, ancient church and bridge, The Stableyard is one of 10 listed buildings in the vicinity of a monastery, all trace of which has been lost.
Has restoration work taken place?
To preserve its structure essential work has taken place over the centuries.
Are there any elements of particular historical importance at the building?
With its wattle and daub walls The Stableyard is the oldest building in the historic village of Bangor-on-Dee
Has the property received any certifications for its historical status?
Grade II Listed
Would you describe your property as (or has it ever been in the past) a:
Monastery
Is there anything that you would like to highlight, add or clarify?
The two smaller self-catering cottages are barn style conversions of 150 year old outbuildings; the larger cottage forms part of the 400 year old building with traditional beams and pillar.
Show more
 
The Allan Ramsay Hotel
52 Photos
The Allan Ramsay Hotel  
Hotel in Carlops  
Available on:

Historic Hotel

Year built: 1792
What is the history of the property?
The hotel was named after Scots Poet - Allan Ramsay (1684-1758). Allan Ramsay was a poet, bookseller and collector of Scots poetry and songs. His most important musical work is called "The Gentle Shepherd" which he set in the environs of the hotel. This is a ballad opera featuring several dozen Scottish folk tunes and songs. His main residence was in Edinburgh and was known as The Goose Pie as it had an octagonal library (this building is now part of Ramsay Gardens, located just below Edinburgh Castle); there is a statue of Allan Ramsay in Princes Street Gardens, and Ramsay's face plaque can also be found on the Walter Scott monument in Edinburgh. His son, also called Allan, was a distinguished artist and became portrait painter to King George VI.
What was the era and/or the architectural style in which the property was built?
18th century - the hotel is substantial two storey stone building.
Is the property surrounded by other historic buildings?
The hotel is located in the village of Carlops which was built as a weavers village in the 1700s.
Has restoration work taken place?
The building has been maintained over the years to a good standard and in large part intact.
Are there any elements of particular historical importance at the building?
The hotel and pub have always been key part of village life. And has been trading as a hotel for over 225 years.
Are there any important guests or previous owners worth mentioning?
None
Has the property received any certifications for its historical status?
It is recognised by Historic Environment Scotland who installed a bronze plaque to Allan Ramsay marking the buildings connection to him and the surrounding landscape and locations.
Is there anything that you would like to highlight, add or clarify?
It retains much of its original features, open fireplaces, beams and decorated in colours reflecting the Ramsay tartan - chiefly black, red and white.
Show more
 
Pillarbox Cottage
Pillarbox Cottage  
Lodge in Matlock  
Available on:

Historic Accommodation

Year built: 1600
What is the history of the property?
Property is the barns of the nearby farmhouse. It was used as a council depot before the main barn was converted into a dwelling in 1996. Pillarbox Cottage was converted in 2008. It still has many original beams visible in the ceiling.
Is the property surrounded by other historic buildings?
The cottage is in a small courtyard with three dwellings.
Has restoration work taken place?
Only in the sense it was tastefully converted in 2008 from a garage.
Are there any elements of particular historical importance at the building?
The exposed are quite impressive.
Has the property received any certifications for its historical status?
Property is Grade 2 listed.
Would you describe your property as (or has it ever been in the past) a:
Barn
Show more
 
Pilgrim Corner
22 Photos
Pilgrim Corner  
Vacation Home in Minehead  
Available on:

Historic Accommodation

Year built: 1700
What is the history of the property?
Built in 16th or 17th Century, Pilgrim Corner has been a public house and a popular tea room (in the 1950s). It is likely to have been two small cottages which were combined into the large four bedroomed house it is today.
What was the era and/or the architectural style in which the property was built?
It is a thatched cob cottage, typical of the style. In a conservation area at the bottom of North Hill, this and neighbouring cottages are characterised by very tall chimneys to allow the fire to draw.
Is the property surrounded by other historic buildings?
This area of Minehead is called 'Upper Town', 'Higher Town' or 'Old Town' all of which encapsulate its location and style. The area is picturesque, and Pilgrim Corner is one of the most photographed thatched cottage in Minehead - and Somerset - due to its appearance and location next to local beauty spot Church Steps.
Has restoration work taken place?
As a large Grade II listed cottage, we are regularly attending to the maintenance of the cottage. No major works have been required - except for an entire rethatch in 2018.
Are there any elements of particular historical importance at the building?
The 'squint' window by the front door. Beautiful window seats and mullion windows to the front of the house. Wooden beams in the front room, kitchen and Peacock bedroom. Large, sweeping staircase. A VR red postbox in the front wall - still in daily use.
Are there any important guests or previous owners worth mentioning?
Those who have owned Pilgrim Corner feel a certain privilege. We are in touch with two relatively recent owners, one of whom ran the 'Pilgrims Corner' tea room in the 1950s and 1960s. It was notorious for its beautiful tea garden and marvellous cakes!
Has the property received any certifications for its historical status?
Grade II listed
Is there anything that you would like to highlight, add or clarify?
The garden is of particular note. Not only is it large, and very beautiful, but we've found historical items such as clay pipes, ancient pottery, oyster shells and sheep bones - all providing an insight into the lives of previous residents.
Show more
 
Marlborough Arms
36 Photos
Marlborough Arms  
Hotel in Woodstock  
Available on:

Historic Hotel

Year built: 1469
What is the history of the property?
Originally the George Inn
Is the property surrounded by other historic buildings?
Situated in centre of town, 5 mins walk of Blenheim Palace
Has restoration work taken place?
Yes
Are there any important guests or previous owners worth mentioning?
Winston Churchill regular visitor
Show more
 
The Old Sweet Shop
16 Photos
The Old Sweet Shop  
Vacation Home in Minehead  
Available on:

Historic Accommodation

Year built: 1700s
What is the history of the property?
Tudor cottage built in the 16th Century and split into two dwellings. The room we call 'Strawberry Sherbet' was the sweet shop/grocery store certainly by the 1900s, if not earlier. Part of the Luttrell's significant estate, in 1947 the family sold it to the then owners for the princely sum of £48.
What was the era and/or the architectural style in which the property was built?
It's a cob cottage, which is lime render over cobblestone, with a thatched roof. As with all the properties on this part of Vicarage Road, the chimneys are especially high to allow a fire to draw.
Is the property surrounded by other historic buildings?
Most of the houses in the conservation area are Grade II listed. Known as “Higher Town”, the cottages housed workers employed on the Dunster castle estate. This is the quietest, oldest and prettiest part of Minehead. The Old Sweet Shop was the centre of this tiny hamlet's daily life in the 1900s and on.
Has restoration work taken place?
Brought in January 2016, the cottage had been seriously neglected. A significant architect-led refurbishment took place, which included adding two en-suite bathrooms and major repairs throughout - all with the relevant permissions. The thatch was returned to the front door and the Victorian extension which had been tiled. The garden was seriously overgrown and many hours of hard physical work and careful replanting have brought it back to life once again.
Are there any elements of particular historical importance at the building?
Beautiful mullion windows in the front room with their original fixings and hardware. Stunning exposed beams in the front room and throughout. A large fireplace with aged scorch marks made by the tips of a hot poker on the large wooden mantelpiece. Large open spiral staircase. Tall chimneys typical of the area. A lovely thatched roof. Pretty bay shop window which is used for regularly changing window displays.
Has the property received any certifications for its historical status?
Grade II listed
Is there anything that you would like to highlight, add or clarify?
One of the original shop signs can be found in the entrance hall. Here’s what our neighbour Keith told us: “I used to pop in to the sweet shop every morning in 1959 before school for my bag of strawberry sherbet. Then I’d pop back up again after school and buy two strawberry gobstoppers. We had to go in and out quickly before Mr Arthur and Eric James, the two dairy farmers from Moor Farm. They used to bring their cows up past the shop for milking twice a day. If you were unlucky enough to bump into the cows, it could get very messy and I’d get sent home from school for being smelly!”
Show more
 
The White Lion Inn
The White Lion Inn  
Inn in Hampton in Arden  
Available on:

Historic Accommodation

Year built: 1600
What is the history of the property?
Originally a farmhouse that has brewed beer since at least 1700
What was the era and/or the architectural style in which the property was built?
Tudor
Is the property surrounded by other historic buildings?
11th Century church opposite, with Sir Robert Peels House, Hampton Manor , 500 yds away. The village has many historic buildings, including Fentham Hall, Beech House and many historic cottages
Has restoration work taken place?
Yes
Are there any important guests or previous owners worth mentioning?
Oliver Cromwell's commander stayed here
Would you describe your property as (or has it ever been in the past) a:
Farmhouse
Is there anything that you would like to highlight, add or clarify?
We 6 miles from Kenilworth Castle, 12 miles from Warwick Castle, 12 miles from Henley in Arden (Ann Hathaways House) 17 miles from Stratford on Avon
Show more
 
Elen's Castle Hotel
4 Photos
Elen's Castle Hotel  
Guest House in Dolwyddelan  
Available on:

Historic Accommodation

Year built: 1770
What is the history of the property?
Once the home of Baron Gwydir, Earl of Ancaster, Elen's Castle formed part of his Welsh Estate. Named after the daughter of Llywelyn the Great who was born in the castle here in the village of Dolwyddelan. The holtel was sold to the Baron's gamekeeper when it became a hotel which specialised in hunting parties. We have a roman well on the property purported to have healing properties.
What was the era and/or the architectural style in which the property was built?
We are not sure of the date but we are told it is over 300 years old. It is built of solid slate as are the coach houses. The bar is set in the original kitchen with a large fireplace with a pot bellied log stove
Is the property surrounded by other historic buildings?
The hotel is situated in the historic village of Dolwyddelan, home to Llywelyn the Great who was born in the castle here in the village. It is one of the few remaining castles built by the Welsh and you can still visit it today.

You can also visit the roman well at the rear of the property.
Has restoration work taken place?
In 2010 work started in association with the local historical society and with a grant from the Heritage Lottery Fund. The roman well was the site of an archaeological dig and is now a visitor site.
Are there any elements of particular historical importance at the building?
The bar is situated in the original kitchen and has a large fireplace with a log burning pot bellied stove. There are historical documents on display in various locations in the hotel.
Are there any important guests or previous owners worth mentioning?
The original owner was Baron Gwydir, Earl of Ancaster.
Would you describe your property as (or has it ever been in the past) a:
Home of the Gentry
Is there anything that you would like to highlight, add or clarify?
The village of Dolwyddelan was the setting of Thomas Dylan's famous book 'A Child's Christmas in Wales'
Show more
 
The Bell in Ticehurst
40 Photos
The Bell in Ticehurst  
Inn in Ticehurst  
Available on:

Historic Accommodation

Year built: 1560
What is the history of the property?
The story of The Bell stretches back to around 1560 when it was a rather showy Tudor building. Over the years it was remodelled and extended with additions of bedrooms, kitchen and the assembly room for concerts, weddings and community gatherings. We have smoothed out the rougher edges but preserved the wonderful imperfections that somehow made it perfect.
Is the property surrounded by other historic buildings?
No
Has restoration work taken place?
Yes
Show more
 
Pickmere Country House
20 Photos
Pickmere Country House  
Hotel in Pickmere  
Available on:

Historic Hotel

Year built: 1772
What is the history of the property?
Originally built as a farmhouse, the largest in Cheshire in it's day, with 95 acres of land the house was converted into a guest house in the 1980's
What was the era and/or the architectural style in which the property was built?
Georgian, built during the reign of George ll
Is the property surrounded by other historic buildings?
It is a rural property set in the middle of the village of Pickmere. There are a few other buildings in the village of the same era
Has restoration work taken place?
Work is on going all the time
Would you describe your property as (or has it ever been in the past) a:
Farmhouse
Show more
 
Thatched Cottage Hotel
14 Photos
Thatched Cottage Hotel  
Hotel in Brockenhurst  
Available on:

Historic Hotel

Year built: 1627
What was the era and/or the architectural style in which the property was built?
Traditional Thatched Cottage
Is the property surrounded by other historic buildings?
Located in the centre of the New Forest. Following the Norman Conquest, the New Forest was proclaimed a royal forest, in about 1079, by William the Conqueror.
Has the property received any certifications for its historical status?
Grade 2 Listed Status
Show more
 
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
9 Photos
Dovecliff Hall Hotel  
Hotel in Burton upon Trent  
Available on:

Historic Hotel

Year built: 1790
What is the history of the property?
Dovecliff Hall is a building steeped in history. A Georgian manor house dating back to 1790, it was built for the family of Thomas Thornewill, the owner of a forge converted from Stretton corn mill.
In the 19th century, it was owned by Lord Bass who made many contributions to Burton, including the Ferry Bridge.
The grounds in the late 1840s covered 39 a.Thornewill was succeeded in 1843 by his son Edward (d. 1866), whose widow Mary continued to live at Dove Cliff until her death in 1880. In 1881 their son, Edward John, sold the estate to William Joseph Smith of Alvaston , who also bought the family's iron works at Stretton. Smith died in 1891, and in 1897 his widow Frances sold Dove Cliff house with 55 a. to Hugh Spencer Charrington, a Burton brewer, already the tenant. Charrington died apparently in 1921, and the house remained unoccupied in 1928. It was a hotel in 1932, but seems to have been a private house again by 1936 when was bought by Colonel Sharpe. Known as Dovecliff Hall by 1987, it was opened that year once more as a hotel, still its use in 1999.

Built of red brick with stone dressings on a square 5bayed plan, the two-storeyed house has a hipped roof, sash windows, and external doorways with Ionic colonettes. The north projecting porch was added, probably when the house was re-ordered internally in the 1890s or early 1900s.
What was the era and/or the architectural style in which the property was built?
Georgian Manor House
Is the property surrounded by other historic buildings?
Tutbury Castle
Has restoration work taken place?
Yes
Would you describe your property as (or has it ever been in the past) a:
Mansion
Show more
 
*Prices above are average nightly rates as provided by our partners for one room, double occupancy and might not include all taxes and fees. Please see our booking partners websites for full details.

Regions: England, Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland.
Categories:
  •     Historic (1996)
  •     Romantic (1662)
  •     Parking (1058)
  •     Small (1039)
  •     Family (802)
  •     Luxury (739)
  •     Dog Friendly (697)
  •     Honeymoon (681)
  •     4 Star (669)
  •     Accessible (638)
  •     3 Star (517)
  •     Business (515)
  •     Boutique-Style (476)
  •     Bridal Suite (466)
  •     Nightlife (420)
  •     Golf (411)
  •     Free Wi-Fi (247)
  •     Adult Only (227)
  •     Spa (227)
  •     Gym (217)
  •     Pool (186)
  •     5 Star (158)
  •     Indoor Pool (154)
  •     Heated Pool (113)
  •     Tennis (79)
  •     Beach (73)
  •     Yoga (57)
  •     Dogs Stay Free (53)
  •     Dog Play Area (49)
  •     Castle (48)
  •     Haunted (44)
  •     Health & Safety (39)
  •     Outdoor Pool (30)
  •     Cheap (19)
  •     Beachfront (17)
  •     Pool Lap Lanes (16)
  •     Ski (10)
  •     Vineyard (7)
  •     Monastery (5)
  •     Children's Pool (4)
  •     Dog Sitting (3)
  •     Panoramic View Pool (2)
  •     Infinity Pool (2)
  •     Rooftop Pool (1)
  •     Casino (1)

As Featured On:


Home   |  About   |  Press  |  Blog  |  NFTs  |  Terms & Conditions  |  Privacy Policy  |  Cookies Policy  |   FAQ  |   Contact

GNTO LICENSE NUMBER (MH.T.E.): 0259Ε60000576001

Copyright © 2012–2021 Travelmyth™. All rights reserved.



This website uses cookies. By browsing our site you agree to the use of cookies.