This old establishment was formerly used as a Government Building in 1913 until the 1980s. It was then planned for demolition until the Christchurch City Council bought the property. It was held by the council until 1995 when it was sold to the Symphony Group, finally turning the beautiful building into a hotel.
The property was built in 1895 by William Nelson. In the next year, a retired Navy Officer named George Langdale Sunderland took residence. He worked with William Nelson and his brothers as head stock buyer and was then promoted to manager. The property remained under the Nelson family until WWII.
Cordis, Auckland by Langham Hospitality Group Hotel in Auckland
Listed as a Category II Historic Building, it was built in 1896. The house was used as a boarding house where Roger Lupton served as a headmaster until 1924. After the school moved to Glenbervie in 1991, the property underwent renovations and additions while maintaining its classical atmosphere.
Hotel for Honeymoon
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel Hotel in Queenstown
William Gilbert Rees, an opportunist gold miner, built the property in 1859. The gold rush of a nearby river jumpstarted business and residency in the area. With his entrepreneurial mind, he turned the house into a hotel along with Albert Eichardt. In 1869, Eichardt became its sole proprietor and turned it into a permanent hotel under the name "Eichardt's Private Hotel".