This former monastery offers luxury colonial-style accommodation, set around a courtyard. It is located in the historical centre of Cusco, just 2 blocks from Plaza Armas Square.
Next to the vibrant Cusco Central Square is the Belmond Hotel, a former monastery and a national monument. This ex monastery offers luxury colonial-style accommodation and it's set around a courtyard in the Cusco´s historical centre just 2 blocks from Plaza Armas Square. Originally built in 1592, Belmond Hotel Monasterio sits on the site of Inca Amaru Qhala’s palace. Six years later, the Spanish took it over and founded the Seminary of San Antonio Abad. However, an earthquake seriously damaged the building in 1650 and upon restoration the beautiful Chapel was added. In 1965, the building was remodelled as a hotel and right now it is a national historic landmark, protected by Peru’s National Institute of Culture.
Under the Council of Trent, the Bishop of Cusco, Antonio Raya y Navarrete, founded the college seminary at the old Inca palace. However, an earthquake struck the region destroying the place around mid-1600s. A new Baroque seminary was built on top of the rubble. As a historical landmark, Hotel Monasterio is protected by Peru’s National Institute of Culture.
Choose a reviving Thai massage or a relaxing aromatherapy to prepare an exquisite end to a day of adventure and exploration.
A historic former palace and convent; the hotel has emerged from years of restoration to finally become Cusco's most exclusive hotel.
Set in a peaceful plaza behind Cusco's main square, this former palace has emerged from years of restoration to be turned into one of the city's most exceptional resorts.
The building in which this luxurious hotel is housed today was initially an Inca palace built in the 16th century. In the 18th century, it was used as a convent, in which later on some rooms where used as a boarding school for girls. The last nun that inhabited the convent left in 1977, and after that the building passed to the government of Peru before becoming the majestic hotel it is today.
Initially built in the 1500s during the Inca Empire. However, the earthquake of 1650 partially destroyed the walls and had to be rebuilt. It was used as a school until it was claimed by a private owner in 1687 and then a convent in the 18th century for nuns. In 1876, the convent used the rooms as a girls' boarding school. In 1977, the last nun moved out and the ancient building was leased to the Peruvian government.
The ancient property was first used by humble muleteers, merchants and travellers as a place of refuge after exhaustion. A place where they feed their animals and rest their products before they continue to other towns.
The building is a restored 16th century colonial structure.